When you Walk Along the Way

Just a place to share my thoughts as I seek to serve my husband, raise my children and Glorify my God!

The Campaign for Christ November 3, 2008

Filed under: Everyday thoughts — A Relevant Old Soul @ 10:35 pm

He changes times and seasons;
he sets up kings and deposes them.
He gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to the discerning. Daniel 2:21

Proverbs 8: 15-16

By me kings reign
and rulers make laws that are just;

by me princes govern,
and all nobles who rule on earth.

We have finally reached the “big day.” The day when Americans will get the chance to walk into that voting booth and pull the lever for their candidate. I think it a safe assumption that most all of you are as sick of this election as I. It seems like the never-ending story. Day after day, hour by hour in some cases of more and more negativity and bashing.

It has definitely been passionate. I wonder, if we as Christians were as passionate about our Christ as we are our candidate how much more quickly the gospel could be spread.

I know that I have not posted in a while. I wanted to take a little time today to remind every one of something before we go into the vote tomorrow. I do believe it our American duty to vote. I do believe we should research issues and know the candidates stances. I do not, however, believe that we should give in to the nonsensical philosophy of fear pervading this election.

As Christians, we already have a ruler. We have been brought from death to life from the KIng of Kings. He establishes rulers and he deposes them. The God we serve is Sovereign! His Sovereignty is not in jeopardy over the American Presidential election. This is not an excuse for laziness. We are still required to act. But Our God is not a God of fear.. He is the Prince of Peace!

If we buy into the lies of the world and allow this fear and worry to invade us, we are merely doubting the Most High God. Nothing will happen that he has not allowed and prepared the way before. He controls this election and he controls the rulers that are on its ballot.

Passion for your candidate is a good thing but I wonder if that passion is a tad misplaced. Think about it.. Think about the masses that could be reached if we were so hard core about our Christ being placed in his rightful position. Are you campaigning for Christ. Think about how carefully each word is chosen by the candidates and those representing him. They are fearful of anything being said or done that may portray their candidacy in a negative light. Are we as concerned about the name of Christ? Are we his followers as careful to represent his name?

How worldly we have become… We are so earthly minded. These temporary worldly issues and things are just that.. temporary. We need to be Kingdom minded. We are spiritual creatures having an earthly experience. If we call ourselves Christians then every choice we make reflects upon our Christ. Would you go door to door and campaign for your Saviour?

Sadly enough.. We have Christians who know more about McCain than they do about the Savior. They will spend hours researching his issues and stances but reserve bible reading only for church services.  We are allowing these temporal things to take first place in our lives.

So today, I leave you with this… Have you researched Christ?  Does the thought of the Cross pour out of your being?  Do people you come in contact with realize you are representing him? I pray that today and everyday, I am a closer and closer to being a better representation of Christ.  I seek to become more and more like him daily.

The enemy can not win this election if we do not allow our hearts to be won by him through fear and intimidation.  My God will establish nations and rulers.  My God will has already finished the book and I know who wins!

 

Leave a Reply

