When you Walk Along the Way

Just a place to share my thoughts as I seek to serve my husband, raise my children and Glorify my God!

It is well.. With my soul! September 13, 2008

Filed under: Insights of Insomnia — A Relevant Old Soul @ 11:56 am


Being in school for teaching, one of the first things we are taught is engaging all 5 senses to encourage learning. There are so many times that we read the Bible and the stories have become common place to us. Do we really see the depth of the lesson being taught through them. Sometimes we need a visual.

I believe that has been provided. For those of you who still have power remaining, a large ship is stranded out in the middle of Hurricane Ike. There is no chance of reaching them and they were told to simply hunker down and ride out the storm. It reminded me of the a similar bible story.

Matthew 8: 23-27
Jesus Calms the Storm

23Then he got into the boat and his disciples followed him. 24Without warning, a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat. But Jesus was sleeping. 25The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Lord, save us! We’re going to drown!”

26He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm.

27The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him!”

When we read that story do we really understand the extreme conditions. Imagine this small fishing vessel. Surrounded by the winds and rains that we are seeing at this moment. The waves crashing overboard into the ship. Extreme panic and chaos amid this boat. The anger and the frustration as they realize that they are all panicking and Jesus sleeps. I love his answer when they awaken him. “Oh you of little faith!”- Oh is that me!

How many times do I panic over simple drizzle. The drops fall around me and the stress factor starts to rise. I wonder, could we even say that Stress, is the opposite of FAITH. Allowing our circumstances to control us instead of the creator of those circumstances shows how little faith we truly have. We have many Hurricanes in life… Loss of a job, loss of a home, loss of a loved one. We also have many smaller storms. You know the everyday things that happen causing us to freak out. How dare we walk into our churches singing … “When peace like a river attendeth my way.. it is Well with my Soul.” Is it well? Are you sleeping through your storms? I know I’m not.

“Oh ME of little Faith!” Even the winds and the waves obey him and I can not even trust him in little circumstances. We say we trust him but do we REALLY trust him. If we trust then why do we stress?

I know I would have been panicked on that boat. Even with the creator of the wind sleeping right next to me. Why do we lack the “true faith” that he has called us to as his children. Have you ever seen a child asleep at a football game or in the middle of the mall? The chaos around them is no match for their need to sleep. Did you ever realize the trust it takes for that. Our children have blind trust that we will protect them and they can rest in any circumstance. I think I need to do a little more sleeping through my storms.

Oh Lord, give me the Faith of a child. Your -child, that relies fully on you for each and every moment of each and every day. Every breath I breathe you have provided and have been granted to me through you. Lord help me to remember that the creator of the universe is in me and therefore no storm is greater than its maker. God help me to begin each day filling myself with you so that at as I gently lay down my head at night I with all confidence may say… “It is well with my soul!”

BTW…Remember we do not sing at church in order to entertain ourselves. The words we sing to our Savior bring Glory to him. The next time you are in corporate worship and you are joining in song, remember that if you are singing words that you are not acting out then you are standing in worship of the Savior with lies on your lips… May it be that each of us sing with all confidence at the throne of our King…. It is Well with My soul.. Read the words and MEAN them..

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Refrain

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

Refrain

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

Refrain

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord!
Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

Refrain

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

 

Leave a Reply

